When I Kissed the Teacher

Written by:

(Sorry this is the ABBA song title that sounds the most like school)

Here are some details about the academic things I’d probably be curious about before starting the semester

Workload

Before class there is usually quite a lot of reading to do to prepare. I definitely recommend at least checking over the topic of the next class so you can be prepared to participate.
All classes have group projects at one point or another. This could be presentations or papers, and it’s a good way to get to know people in your classes. My background is in big lectures and strict exam schedules, so this has been a great opportunity to work on collaboration.
Professors are good about using Canvas, so I recommend checking out the calendar at the beginning of every week.


Exams

There are none! Well, not exactly… DIS has a policy about in class exams which is that they don’t exist. My exams are take home and open note. This doesn’t mean that they’re automatically easy; open ended responses require a deeper level of understanding.
Professors also get creative about other ways to test your knowledge. For example, my final for my core course is designing a board game to teach the class content.


Level of Difficulty

Like I said, the only neuro class I had taken before this semester was biopsych… so I was nervous in the beginning. While the content is difficult, its taught in a comprehensive way from a variety of perspectives, like case studies and anatomy. I think the most important skill I got from the combination of my classes is understanding neuroanatomy and brain connectivity more.


Honest Opinion

Guys here’s the honest truth… I like my classes!!!!! I literally emailed my abroad advisor and told him to tell more neuro students at Northeastern to apply to DIS because my credits here transfer in back home, and count towards my GPA.
I’m technically an undercover pre-med student, and opportunities to go abroad are far and few between. DIS is the perfect place to study abroad — I’ll be walking out of this semester with plenty of knowledge 🙂
This post is about classes and academics… but don’t worry I will have plenty to say about Stockholm and living in Scandinavia coming up 😉


Leave a comment

Latest Articles

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started